Think about the little things

So, yesterday morning, around 4:30 am, there was a shooting near my house. You may have heard this on the news, and you may not have. But a close friend of mine lives right next to a man, a man who was killed in the shooting. I was asleep at the time, but I could tell you that many people, like my friend and her family, were awake and scared out of their minds. Today she came to school and acted like everything was Grade-A peachy perfect, but it wasn’t, and I didn’t buy it. I think I might’ve been the only one who could closely relate to what she went through, because I’ve learned to think about the little details that can happen in a person’s life. The crazed clowns going around Kansas City? Big deal. Hurricane Matthews and Nicole tearing up the eastern coast? Big deal. But a shooting might be big on the news for half an hour and then forgotten, doesn’t seem important. Except, of course, the people who had to live through the entire traumatizing event. So, think about this. Next time someone dies in another’s family, or some get sick, or even arrested, be considerate, and think about how that person’s life is now because of that event. People don’t just pick up where they left off in life, I know this from personal experience. Try to think about the little things.

Leave a Reply

